The Amateur Championship staged by The R&A - 2008 british amateur golf


British Amateur Championship 2008 british amateur golf

The Amateur Championship (sometimes referred to as the British Amateur or British Amateur Championship outside the UK) is a golf tournament which has been held annually in the United Kingdom since 1885 except during the two World Wars, and in 19when Ireland hosted the championship. It is one of the two leading individual tournaments for amateur golfers, alongside the Format: Stroke play and match play.

2008 in golf Jump to navigation This article summarizes the highlights of professional and amateur golf in the year 2008. Men's professional golf. Major championships. 10–13 April: The Masters - South African Trevor Immelman won his first major by a three Senior British Open - Bruce Vaughan won his first Champions Tour event. 31 July.

The Amateur Championship is one of the most prestigious golf tournaments in the world and was first played in 1885 at Hoylake. The championship has visited 22 locations throughout Great Britain and Ireland with Hoylake hosting the greatest number of times (18), followed by St Andrews (16), Royal St George’s (14), Prestwick and Muirfield (both.

The Amateur Championship is one of the biggest and most prestigious amateur golf events in the world, with hundreds of players competing over 6 days.

British Amateur Championship, golf tournament held annually in Great Britain for male amateurs with handicaps of 2 or less. A field of 256 players selected by qualifying play is reduced to players who, after 1957, competed for most holes won in a 36-hole final match play round. In 1885, an Open.